Librarian Day in the Life (Round 6, Day 1)

I’ve seen the “Librarian Day in the Life” tweets and posts before, but this is the first time I’ve caught wind of it in time to participate. Before I go into my day, I’d like to thank Bobbi Newman for starting this and make reference to her original post.

Also, I’d like to encourage others to:

a) go register on the wiki if you’re participating and

b) not to let a missed day or two stop you from joining in. I didn’t think to register until I’d already spent half the day adding the #libday6 hashtag to my tweets.

Monday, 1/24:

9:00am – Noon Eating breakfast with my husband (lucky him, he goes in late every day) and getting ready for work.

Noon – 12:30pm Was looking for parking; made the mistake of thinking I would find a spot in the parking garage. Parking was unusually easy during the first few weeks of the spring semester and apparently lulled me into thinking it would remain that way. Hah.

12:30 – 1:30pm In my office, checking & replying to email and reviewing my to-do list for the day & week.

1:30 – 3:30pm Reviewing a colleague’s first draft script for a Virtual Library Tour that she & I are working on with another colleague. Spent some time reading & viewing articles & websites related to this project. I snacked on edamame & sipped Earl Grey tea.

3:30 – 4:30pm In meeting for Virtual Library Tour, where I read aloud the draft script and notes were made for the first round of editing. Our Virtual Library Tour is planned to be for the first floor of our library, and we discussed issues of matching the script to the potential camera angles, which type of camera to use, and the possibility of segmenting the tour into 3 very brief videos rather than create a tour that may leave students tuning out after the first 2-3 minutes. Even if it were going to be 5 minutes, that can feel like an eternity in “online tour” minutes. There’s still more work to be done though before anything is settled.

One colleague brought chocolate animal crackers to the meeting. Since I hadn’t officially had lunch/dinner, I fell prey to their chocolatey-goodness.

4:30 – 6:00pm More emails, worked on a report, and realized I was hungry for real food. Ate a leftover lamb-burger & mashed potatoes at my desk. Oink oink, but it was good nonetheless.

6:00 – 9:00pm Evening Reference Desk Shift. Finished a report, reviewed & made suggestions on revised Virtual Library Tour script. Reference Desk questions included:

Q: Does the library have any computers with the SPSS program?

A: I let her know I didn’t think we had it on any computers in the library anymore, but directed her to check our upstairs computer lab as well as another computer lab that’s attached to (but separate from) the library.

Q: How do I find these books?

A: He pointed to a list of books, with Call Numbers. I tried to explain how the call number system works, but he seemed to need more help than the average patron. I gave him the number for the reference desk and advised that he call me there from upstairs if he continued to run into problems. I didn’t hear back from him. I did notice that he’d expressed having had difficulty finding the books in the first place, and it sounded as though he’d originally tried searching via Summon (we call it something else) instead of the library catalog.

There were a few questions from patrons who were in a recent library instruction session of mine, and I showed them how to search via both Summon as well as the databases mentioned in their class LibGuide. Their professor was also around and said hello.

There were calls from students who needed to activate their student ID in order to access the library’s resources remotely, and there were the usual printing & computer questions.

Tomorrow

I’m not sure if I’ll be writing additional posts this week, but I’ll probably continue tweeting. Tomorrow’s plans include:

  • Reference Desk 9:00-11:00am
  • Work on 2 Subject LibGuides & 1 Class LibGuide
  • Virtual Reference shift 1:00-5:00pm
  • Preparation for Wednesday meetings & other TBA items
  • (Added Later): Collection Development
  • (Added Later): Reference Weeding

Now it is 10:37pm and I need to get home!

2 responses to “Librarian Day in the Life (Round 6, Day 1)

  1. Great post Rachel! Glad to see you participating in this too. Have fun with Health Month, I’m sort of over it now. My resolutions were too hard. I hope yours stick for the entire year.
    -Kim

  2. Thanks Kim! Hope you find something that works for you. Resolutions aren’t always what they’re cracked up to be!

Leave a Reply

